To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its

major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Any region has some portion of its population as the locals who actually hail from that region. These are the people who reflect the culture and societal characteristics of that region. Often, we see that in cities, industrialisation and globalisation causes a heavy migration of people from all over the neighbouring regions, and even neighbouring countries. This causes drastic changes in the societal features of the region, and slowly, the city disowns the local culture and embodies a metropolitan and mixed kind of a culture. Hence I strongly feel that the cities in a region are very unreliable when it comes to understanding the society in a region.

The best indicators of societal conditions in a region are the small towns and villages. These places are untouched by any kind of modernisation and have a considerable populations of the locals. Studying these regions can give deep insights into the cultural practices and the historical stories connected to the region and its people. We can study about how the society was during the olden times, and how it evolved through ages to become what it today is, by interacting with the locals and studying their historical artifacts and related stories. We can learn more about the local political system to better understand the distribution of power, and the authoritarian status of the people in power. A deep study of the economy of the village or town can help understand the economic effects on the social status of the people living there.

A perfect example of this can be seen in the form of the State of Maharashtra in India. Maharashtra has many well-developed cities like Mumbai, Pune, Nashik, Nagpur, etc. All these cities have a signficant portion of the population which migrated from other parts of the country, which leads to the formation of a multicultural society, which accepts every culture with equal dignity and respect. If we try to gauge the societal features of the region depending on study of Mumbai, for example, we would see a mixture of muliple ethnicites and far away regions instead of the features of Maharashtrian Society. Hence, we must try to study the villages and towns in Maharashtra, which are preserving the authentic features of Maharashtrian society.

But it cannot be denied that cities represent some of the most populous areas of the region, and these are the economic powerhouses of a region. They represent the evolving face of the region, which must also have some leverage while considering societal characteristics of the region. The city-based societies would become an integral part of the region in the far future, and hence we must also study them in order to understand the dynamics of the societal features in the region.

In conclusion, I believe that the villages and towns preserve the indigeneous societal features of the region and must be given more importance in any study that aims to understand the society in a region. But in order to understand the dynamic aspects of a society and how it is evolving, we must take into account the city-based societies in the region.