To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

he development of cities is in general reflected by social interest, and therefore it is contentious that studying major cities allows one to understand the crucial aspects of a society. Although it is true that some important characteristics of a society unveils itself through the composition of major cities, I adamantly disagree with the statement that the most crucial characteristics of a society can be assessed by examining its major cities.

Granted, cities often reflect a variety of socio-economic complexion. For example, although metropolices seem identical at a first glance, there are some unique and whimsical characteristics that reflects some essential characteristics of a society. Take Tokyo, the capital of Japan, for example. The various aspects of Tokyo reveals the unique facet of the society. For example, in Tokyo, there are trashcans everywhere, revealing the social demand of Japanese on cleaning the street. Furthermore, although Tokyo is famous of its anime(Japanese soap opera animation)-aficionado, the shopping district of the anime products are isolated to other district, alluding the underlying social abomination on those anime-aficionados. Likewise, one can often infer some crucial characteristics of a society from the composition and the form of its major cities.

However, analyzing major cities does not always reveal the most important social aspects. This is because cities are not the instantaneous image of the present, but rather the accumulation of the social ethos from the past to the present. Take Paris as an example. Arguable as it may, I think that one of the most important characteristic of France is their admire for the freedom and equity. On the contrary, Paris-the capital of France- still has an extravagant palaces and monuments that were built by aristocrats, which are diametrically different to the aforementioned aspects of France.

Furthermore, it should be noted that extending the parochial characteristic of major cities cannot be generalized to the general characteristics of a society. In case of dealing with Tokyo and the above-mentioned social detestation towards anime-aficionados, it is far-fetched to conclude that the ambience should be the same for the entire country, since there always remains the possibility that the ambience is minor throughout the entire society.

In brief, although some of the social characteristics can be extracted from various aspects of major cities, the most important characteristics cannot be assessed solely from major cities, in that major cities are not the reflection of the current society and that they do not represent the entire country.