To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The most important characteristics of a society are represented by it’s people, the culture, the infrastructure and the heritage that the society beholds and the majority of the population and the infrastructure of any society flourishes in it’s major cities hence I agree with the prompt suggesting that one needs to study the major cities of nations to get a deeper look into the major characteristics of the society.

Any major city of a nation will encompass the majority of its population as well as infrastructure reflecting the society’s economic as well as social status to the people who are oblivious to it thereby providing deeper insights about the characteristics of the society. For example, Bangalore, which is the IT Hub of India is the home for some of the biggest startups of the country. Bangalore represents the technological advancements of India as a nation to the world, similarly Delhi which is the political hub of the nation reflects India’s position in the political world.

Apart from modern advancements, cities also nurture the traditional heritage that has been passed on from centuries. Hyderabad, popularly known for the famous “CharMinar” has a large number of historical monuments and palaces that have been preserved. These cultural artifacts represent the traditions and rituals that used to be followed decades and centuries ago hence reflecting the historical aspects of Indian culture.

While it is true that cities are not the only representation of a society since many a times the true essence of a society is impaired due to the fast paced urbanisation in the cities and hence villages, towns and countrysides might seem to be a better choice for giving deeper looks into a nation’s characteristics but I believe that the most important depiction of any society are its people. People from small villages and towns often tend to migrate to big cities for better education and career growth and hence making cities a blend of both worlds: the modern urbanisation, technological advancements as well the population from the traditional regions of the nation.

Therefore, to say that major cities highlight the most important characteristics of the society is apt since cities are the symbol of a country’s socio-economic and political status in the world’s eyes and they help people get a deeper insight into its culture.