To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

society is a very important part of our civilization as it symbolizes advancement in our culture as compared to pre historic era.

The prompt states that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. I strongly disagree with this prompt because of 2 reasons.

Understanding the characteristics of a society just by studying it’s major cities is actually a very bad idea because different cities have different cultures and studying each and every culture of different cities and trying to characterise them into one to identify them as a society of a certain kind will be wrong. For instance a particular city of a country doesn’t allow petrol or diesel cars but a different city of the same country allows it.From this example I am trying to form an idea and that is it is very complex and tedious process to form a characteristics just by looking at the the society from the above. We have to take a deep dig into the society to know what actually the situatio is.

Many people might argue that the city of a country reflects how people of the society really are but it’s not true there might be a possibility that the people living in that city are living in a fear of high punishment imposed by the government. All the architectures of the city are generally done by a group of architects without taking any permission from the common people and there are some cases where people opposed it and they are called rebels.