To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The advancement of large scale industrial countries have given rise to certain metropolitan cities that handle much of the inward as well as outward flow capital. These large cities boast large tourist attractions, insurmountable ammeneties, progressing education system and up to date technology. The prompt suggests that one must study major cities in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society. I agree with this statement to a certain extent that majrority information regarding a group or society might be available in such large scale major cities, however there are some rather crucial aspects of a society that might only be found in some smaller cities. I would explain my argument using 3 examples.

Large scale major cities are subjected to numerous opportunities for people in term of jobs. People come from different parts of the world to dwell into the unflagging life in such cities and hence such cities also posses a large per capita population that leads to more diverse cultures and characteristics one can study about from these people. For instance, if a major city has seen a certain steep rise in technological developments in terms of production as well as innovation in the past decade, then this city would surely gain foreign traffic form other countries and even from within its own countries from smaller cities. This leads to diverse cultures being gelled together and with number of people following certain characteristics pertaining to their society. This example signifies that if a person were to study the characteristics of such a city that has seen in engulf of huge traffic from different cities itself then it would provide provide an in depth information about the vast diverse nature of such characteristics.

Also, large cities are primarily regard as large due to their mere superiority in population as well as capital, including data. Such data is extremely valuable and includes general information of the residents residing in there as well as the surroundings around them. So, if a person tries to study the basic human interaction as a society or maybe the average weekly spending on grocery, there is ample of data for him to rely. Due to the pervasive nature of technology, it allows people living there to engage with technology and make a lot more easier to provide data to the government there. Hence, this example explains that a certain city can, on how large or major it may be, can improve the experience for a person who intends to study the characteristics of a particular society.

However, one can also see some more subtle details of a society to be misleading when he only gathers data or information from such large cities as the vast majority of population living is not only centered to such large cities but also scattered in other regions. For instance, though a person could comprehend better about the cities advanced data and charcateristcs form such cities but is would surely garner more information about the genial nature of people that live in smaller more cogent towns where people feel even more connected and support each other on every occasion. This could surely prove to be an important aspect when one considers to examine the characteristcs of a society.

In conclusion, I would like to say that such a topic vastly depends on geographical regions in its present form and different techniques or procedures might be applicabe for different cities and thus this complex idea remains for debate. After providing such reasons I would however believe that if one wants to get a holistic view on the characteristcs of the society then he/she might not want to leave any stone unturned and gather information no matter if it is a certain large city or a small one.