To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is an aggregate of people living together in a more or less ordered community. Larger societies have greater discrepancies and variations within it. Since the issue at hand refers to major cities, the society being dealt with is evidently one with an extensive sample set, presumably a country as a whole. A country in a broad sense, comprises of two aspects. They are major cities commonly known as the urban life and the rural areas. Now, if a research study were to leave out a major aspect of the society that it aims to analyse, it would be a futile attempt. Thus, I do not believe that to understand the most important characteristics of such a society, one must study its major cities. Such a study would give an incomplete picture of ground reality. To strengthen my stance, let’s start from the ground up.

What are these important characteristics of a society? The main characteristics are political, financial, and social aspects, along with tradition, history, and culture. One of the most defining aspect of a society is also the ‘Likeness of members.’ Likeness of individuals in a society is the degree to which the members are alike. Food habits, religious practices, family structures are also other minor facets that make a society.

Now these parameters are outstandingly disparate in urban environments and rural areas or country-sides. For example, the political scenario present in an urban area maybe more organised than in rural areas. Financial security would differ to a great extent in both these environments. And differences in social norms, local cuisines, occupations among many others, is self-evident.

For the sake of a case study, let’s take Indian society as an example. The Indian society is comprised of major cities aka the urban subsection and the villages, country-sides, hill stations etc... aka the rural subsection. Only 31% of the Indian population lives in major cities. Moreover, everyday life of people living in these two different sections are poles apart. Food habits, religious customs, occupations, family structures, income and trends vary to great extents in these two divisions of the society. People living in rural areas prefer fresh vegetables and do not follow the concept of storing food while, city goers live by the concept of storing. Income disparities are quite significant too. Rural members of the Indian society are even said to be more friendly and seem relatively more closely knit when compared to the ‘city-people’. Religious practices, customs, trends and tradition also vary. You will not find people wearing suits and blazers with briefcases in their hands somewhere in the outskirts. But you will see farmers tilling land and hardworking women leading a herd of cows. So, you see the degree to which societal norms differ in both these areas is astronomical. If a study had to be done on Indian society without data collected from rural areas but only major cities, it would be far away from the truth.

In conclusion, to study important characteristics of a large society, studying just the major cities is inadequate. The different sections of society have to be included to get a broad essence of the society. if I had to work around this issue at hand, I would include a few major areas along with a few rural areas in my sample set, to make sure my study covers the broad spectrum of societal characteristics present and that my study is sufficiently comprehensive.