To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Earth is a very diverse planet. It has thousands of societies of people and each differing in a plethora of fields. Therefore, making generalizations about a particular society or a part of a society based on trends from another society is not an option. To completely understand the important aspects of a society, it becomes imperative that one study its characteristics in detail. The prompt suggests that to do this, one must study the major cities of the society (i.e., country, let). I mostly disagree with the statement. While the major cities of a country do display a lot of its significant cultural characteristics, the importance of exploring the country-side cannot be gainsaid.

If someone is looking to get an overview of the work culture of people, their languages, food patterns, famous monuments, etc., studying the major cities is helpful. Because it is very difficult for a person to go to every place and know all there is to know about a country, the major metropolitan cities of a country do provide a good outline of the society. Moreover, the majority of the monuments are also in the cities, and monuments provide a very good understanding of a place. For instance, Jaipur in India very well displays the cultural history of the place. It has palaces, now turned into hotels, where the kings once used to live. Not just the palaces, a lot of the monuments in Jaipur exemplify its cultural heritage beautifully. Therefore, if one were to know about Rajasthan, he or she would get a good idea of the whole state, its history and present, just by studying its major cities like Jaipur, Udaipur, and Jaisalmer.

Having said that, it is not always necessary that the major cities provide reliable information about the society. With the advent of ‘westernization,’ the lifestyle of people in most of the major cities all around the world is the same. In other words, the ‘cultural authenticity’ of the society has been tampered with. For instance, a lot of parks, wildlife sanctuaries, even people have been dislocated to construct more buildings. When a person tries to study these major cities, he or she might get the notion that it is the same concrete jungle, like the last place he studied. When, in fact, this is far from the actual truth.

Moreover, cities and villages both are parts of society. Studying only one of them gives an incomplete picture. A person seeking to understand the characteristics of society must also be able to identify the cultural differences among the people of that society. Especially, in developing countries like India, where a large percentage of the people live in villages, studying only the cities is like seeing only one side of a coin. For instance, there are no ‘major cities’ in North-East India. Nonetheless, North-East India is an integral part of the nation as a whole. The cultural dances, the excessive rain patterns, the language of people, are all a lot different from the cities and definitely integral in shaping the characteristic features of India as a whole.

In conclusion, there are both sides to this argument. The major cities are important in studying the characteristic of a place but so are the villages. One cannot solely depend on only one of these if he or she wants to have an exhaustive understanding of society.