To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Studying societies is of great importance to understand what people in a group behave in a particular way. In fact, many science luminaries have spent years ruminating on societies and main characteristics. The prompt recommends that if one wants to fully comprehend characteristics of a society, he has got to study its main cities. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that researchers have to mainly focus on urban areas to analyze a society for the following 2 reasons.

To begin, urbanization has accelerated lately and as a result most people, specially in first world countries, live in urban areas. This unprecedented urbanization has lead people to live more closely and changed many things related to their lives. For instance, though people used to live in provincial areas in the past, right now people from urban areas outstrip those from provincial areas. If you want to understand the society, you need to scrutinize as many members as possible, which can be achieved by studying cities first. For example, in a country assuming half of people live in urban areas, especially in the biggest 3-4 cities, we can draw more accurate conclusion by rumination on those few cities rather than wasting time trying to analyze people from all over the country.

Further, metropolises are where people from different areas come together. Those people from disparate backgrounds share common beliefs and ideas forming the society's characteristics. For example, rural area people tend to be more isolated, even they can be categorized as a society in itself. It isn't a coincidence that some small groups of people in provincial areas have their own language. Therefore, studying such disparate small groups will yield specious results. Cities, however, has a potential to represent to represent the whole society.

Of course, opponents think that because the high number of foreigners in metropolises, cities are an instance of different societies all over the world. However, isn't this interaction what forms a society? Characteristics of societies are ever changing an we can't comprehend it by taking only isolated social groups into account.