To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The major cities of a nation are the mirror to the soul of the society that thrives amongst the citizens living in these big cities. Various cities across the borders of a country represent a variety of characteristics that are an essential part of the society that these cities are home to, as a whole. The given prompt mentions that if one wishes to dig deep and understand the characteristics of the people and the society they live in, one must look into the cities of the said society. I agree with this statement and in this essay, I am going to elaborate and support my position with the help of three examples.

Let us begin with the subject of faith and religion. In order to gain true insight about the hold religion and faith has on the people of a particular society, one can look at the frequency of holy building at every corner or block of the mentioned city. Let us take the example of India. Religion plays a significant role in the Indian society and one can easily come to this conclusion by noticing the presence of temples, mosques or churches at every other turn of the road. According to a survey, the ratio of the number of temples to the number of schools in India is around 8 to 1. That in itself speaks for the vital role religion plays amongst the people of this society, be it good or bad. Religion has been the main cause for violence, murders, riots and so on for decades in Indian society. There are holy cities like Haridwar and Varanasi that portray this immense importance aptly.

Secondly, one can easily comment about the degree of education, social manners or environmental awareness about the citizens of a nation by looking at its cities. Walking around the cities in Europe one could easily notice how clean they are, with the availablility of separate bio-degradable and plastic waste garbage bins. This further showcases the extent of social and environmental awareness amongst the people living in those society. However, the scenario is quite opposite in the developing countries of East Asia, with garbage being dumped by the side of roads and no proper adoption of recycling methods. If we compare the degree of cleanliness in cities in European countries to that of East asian countries, we can easily come to the conclusion that the percentage of educated people in Europe is far greater than that in East asian countries. Education is another important characteristic of the society and the state of the cities in terms of cleanliness tells a lot about it.

Furthermore, one can also take up the example of Arhitectural marvels and designs adopted to decorate the main faces of the nation, that is the major cities, to tell about the creative ways the society of the said country follow. In America, all the big cities portray sky high buildings with minimal designs and are technologically equiped. This tells how the American society believes in practicality, and prefers a simple choice over some artistic method to live their lives.

To recapitulate, I agree whole heartedly how the major cities speak the loudest on behalf of the societies they represent and are the best option to look into if one wishes to gain better insights.