A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Its a known fact that the youth of today are the leaders of tomorrow and its the educational foundations of the youth that shapes the basis for their future endeavors. The prompt suggests that all students should study a common national curriculum during their school. While this scheme could have its benefits but they are not sufficient to surpass the cons the scheme brings along with it. I will support my stance with the following arguments.

Firstly, if all the schools and educational boards followed a common curriculum it would leave no room for heterogeneity and novelty and the whole process of learning will become too monotonous and humdrum. Usually students belonging to different boards of education bring along with them different ideologies, skills and mindset that sets them apart from the crowd. For example in India, there are multiple curriculum like the CBSE and ICSE. Students following these curriculum tend to have different sets of skills and acumen which differentiates them from one another. If they were to follow a common system of curriculum, it would thwart their holistic development since they both will be possessing an identical set of skills leaving no room for creativity and innovativeness.

Furthermore if nations were to mandate a particular set of courses across all its educational institutions, it would become extremely difficult to detect the loopholes of the system due to lack of diversity in the available curriculum since there will be no schooling system to compare the current system with and hence there is a possibility that the students will have to undergo a faulty curriculum which may hinder their overall growth.

Exposure to different curriculum will also facilitate exchange of new and broader ideas and perspectives. Taking the example of Indian education system, there are multiple boards of education like the CBSE, ICSE, IGCSE, state boards etc. When students join the freshmen year of college, they meet other students belonging to different educational background who have followed different curriculum during their schooling. In such situations, students learn new perspectives and information from each other and hence facilitating a healthy and diverse learning environment.

While there might be some benefits of having a common national curriculum such as everyone having a fair and equal exposure to education, the benefits of a diverse national curriculum tend to surpass the former. Hence, in my opinion a curriculum should not be mandated and the institutions should be given the leniency and liberty to make changes as per the preferences of the students as its the education that makes up the most crucial part of a student's formative years.