To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Almost all major cities of a nation serve themselves as one or more important roles of a nation, so it can be said that with studying a nation’s major cities, we can understand a nation’s characteristics better.

We can find out that in most countries, their capitals are not only served for political purposes but also are regarded as economical indicators of a nation’s financial power. Take Taipei for example, the city of Taipei is not only a financial hub of Taiwan, but also is a political capital of Taiwan since the presidential hall and every important institute are located in Taipei. Financially speaking, huge companies have their headquarters set in Taipei, and the stock market is also traded in Taipei, thus we can sense the whole country’s financial status just by studying the city of Taipei.

Politically saying, both the president of Taiwan and the mayor of the city of Taipei are important politicians in Taiwan, and since the presidential hall is in Taipei, almost all parades and other political movement are held in Taipei, for instance, LGBT parade and other political campaigns are held in Taipei almost every month or every week, so by studying Taipei, we can know the country’s potential political moves. Further, take Tokyo for example, Tokyo is also both the political and financial center of Japan since it is considered the largest city around the globe and the Japanese royal family and prime minister are all work and live in Tokyo. Thus we can understand the economy and the politics of Japan by studying the city of Tokyo.

However, some might contend that major cities are often too modernized, or what they say, westernized, so the traditional culture might lose in those major cities. It might sound plausible, nonetheless, culture is well regarded as an important characteristic of a nation, so the government will do whatever they can do to preserve the culture inside the major cities. Take Taipei for example again, we can still see multitudes of historical structures inside the city form the Dutch era to the Japanese colonization period, so it is obvious that culture can be preserved inside a major city.

All in all, every major city inside a country plays one or multiple important roles of a country, even it is a politics center or a financial capital, or even it can present the history of a country. So I agree with the statement saying that by studying a country’s major cities, we can know different aspects of the country.