The drawbacks to the use of nuclear power mean that it is not a long-term solution to the problem of meeting eve-increasing energy needs.

Proponents of nuclear energy as the power source for the future" have long touted its relative economy, "dean-burning technolagy, and virtually inexhaustible fuel supply. However, a close examination of the issue reveals that nudear energy proves more problematic and dangerous than othar forms of energy production and thus is not an acceptable solution to the problert of meeting ever-increasing energy needs.

First and foremost, nuclear power production presents the problem of radioactive waste storage. Fuel byproducts from nuciear fission remain toxic for thousands of years, and the spills and leaks from existing storage sites have been hazardous and costly to clean up. This remains true despite careful regulation and even under the best of circumstances Even more appalling is the looming threat of accidents at the reactor itself Incidente at the Three Mile Island and Chernobyl power plants and at other production sites have wamed us that the consequences of a nuclear meltdown can be catastrophic and felt worldwide.

But beyond the enormous long-term environmental problems and short-term health risks, the bottom-line issue for the production of energy is one of economics. Power production in our society is a business just like any other, and the large companies that producs this country/s electricity and gas claim they are unable to make alternatives such as solar power affordabis. Yet-largely due to incentives from the federal government there already exist. homes heated by solar power and cars fueled by the sun. If the limited resources devoted to date to such energy alternatives have already produced working models, a more intensive, braadly based and supported effort is ilkely to make those altematives less expensive and problematic.

Besides the benefits in terms of both cost and safety, renewable resources such as solar and hydroelectric power represent far better options in the long run for develapment. These options require money only for the materlals needed to harvest the renewable resources. While sunlight and water are free, the innavative technologies and industrial strategies devised to harness them have created a geometric progression of spin-offs affecting fields as diverse as agriculture, real estate, space exploration, and social policy. These options also repeatedly produced secondary economic and social benefits, such as the large recreational and irrigation reservoirs created in the American Southwest behind lange hydroelectric dams like the Hoover and Grand Coulee,

While it may now be clear that the drawbacks to the use of nuclear power are Too great, it should also be apparent that the long-term benefits of renswable resources would reward investment. If these altematives are explored more seriously than they have been in the past, safer and less expensive sources of power will undout cedy live up to their promise. With limited rescurces at our disposal and a burgeoning global population to consider, further investment in nuclear power would mark an unconscionable and unnecessary waste of time and money