The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his/her inherent skills and abilities

The prompt talked about the metric in which a leader can be ranked and cited the challenges faced by that particular leader as a great gauge, this is true for every context whether political, sports, business or even family and I agree based on the following thought process.

"Smooth seas do not make great sailors", this goes to show that the true test of a person, especially a leader's greatness is in in their sanguineness and sangfroid.

History has taught us that every prominent and remarkable leader right from the birth of time has had their fair share of difficulties in order to be lauded as a great leader, Malcom X had to deal with oppositions who wanted him gone at all cost but his steadfast attitude and composure prior to his assassination made him stand out till date as a great leader because he didn't cower to pressure and difficulties, Prophet Yusuf in the Quran was Prime Minister of Egypt during his time and what stood out from his reign was the aptitude and virtuoso he displayed during the time of famine and dearth of food, as a disaster that he foresaw, he made appropriate plans in order to allay the menace to the lowest minimum and this, out of all the numerous achievements during his reign, is what stands out till date.

It is fair to not that, there are great leaders too who have once ruled or governed and the absence of major challenges during their does not in any way derogate their rule, a popular example was Umar Musa Yar'adua who once ruled the Republic of Nigeria, his reign stand out in the ease and increased standard of living which was experienced and this serves to be enough to rank him a great leader

In conclusion, challenges are a true test of a man's prowess and greatness and as a such a great leader is someone who has "stood the test of time" and excelled therefore all great leaders, be it political or not, should be ranked based on the trials and tribulations they experienced