Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

I disagree with the claim that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study. This is majorly because by the time a student reaches the age to attend a university, they are mature enough to know their likes and dislikes and thus what they should study. Moreover, the onus of a holistic education is on the high school education system rather than on universities, as students are younger and thus more receptive to varied ideas as they might have not decided on which career path they wish to pursue.

Consider, for example, a math genius who wishes to pursue a career in theoretical physics and is considering applying to different universities for it. By virtue of the fact that this person is now eligible to apply for undergraduate courses, he must have passed high school and thus must have a decent knowledge of subjects unrelated to his interests such as English or History. Further specialized knowledge in either of those subjects would not benefit him in any way as the likelihood of that knowledge being used in his life is close to zero. A high school education would have given him the necessary generalized knowledge to function adequately in society as far as these subjects are concerned.

One might argue then about people who are not so sure about what they wish to pursue in life. But the answer to that is that these people would then find a university education utterly useless, as the likelihood of them being actually interested in whichever random subject they choose to study would be very low. As a result of this, and also a consequence of university education being highly advanced, they would either fail or drop out, which would be a complete waste of time and resources. If instead they would have chosen to focus on finding where their interests lie, they would have been better off.

This could then lead to another argument, that universities can help such unsure people find their true calling. But one thing which this argument ignores, is that it is not the job, nor a function, of a university to help students choose their career paths. A university is meant to be a place where a student comes with the aim of gaining specialized and advanced knowledge about a topic in a particular area. That is also why a university education is not compulsory, because it is not necessary for survival. It is just a place to gain knowledge.

Even if universities were to cater to the whims of these people and start forcing students to study varied courses, then that would present further disadvantages for the universities. They would be stretched for resources to cater to all the students, because previously only a few students attended select courses whereas now everyone would be attending all the courses. And not just teaching resources, but also infrastructure and money as well. It would be a perfect recipe for disaster. Hence, I disagree with the claim that universities should require students to take varied courses.