Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The competitive nature of our modern global society dictates that students must put more effort into their respective specialization and field. Fresh graduates enters a competition to seek jobs and highlight their CV with strong skills and capabilities. Current employers also look for focused individuals who have invested more time in their fields. Therefore, it is definitely a disadvantage for students to stray away from their specialization. Students who diverge from their field would not only waste their time, but will also effect negatively on their focus and eventually score lower GPA.

Elective courses which don’t relate to the main major and specialization would most likely seem as a burden that heavily consumes student’s time. Not all students have the same perspective on such offered courses. As some might think that the non-related course to one’s field is a great opportunity to open student horizon and expand knowledge, the majority of the students would neglect such courses to focus on the ones related to their majors. For instance, it is not expected for a mathematician, who is compelled to take history classes to only fulfill the university requirement, would excel at history. It is also understandable for an engineer, who has little interest in other fields and areas, to ignore subjects such as art and philosophy. Such students would rather place their attention into their fields. Therefore, students are most likely to score lower grades in those unwanted courses which will also affect their GPA.

From a cost standpoint, every course has its own allocated budget which covers staff payments (teachers, janitors, technical support group, etc.), utility expenses, lab equipment, etc. Therefore, these elective courses represent an additional cost which is included in the tuition fees. In this present time, university’s tuition fees is considered expensive and contributes towards a larger education problem. Most undergraduate students suffers from expensive education bills and struggles to pay their tuition fees. Only after several years of work and taking long term loans, some students are able to pay back what they owe. Some students also work in night shift jobs (at restaurants, coffee shops, etc.) during their years in university to manage to pay a portion of their tuition fees. Therefore, the notion of forcing students to enroll into these non-related courses to their fields seems unnecessary as it makes students struggle and work more. The educational system should find means to cut the tuition cost. Cutting the non-related courses is one mean to achieve that purpose.

Conversely, it is normal to have number of students who are not certain of their interest and may want to explore other fields and specialization, especially in the earlier year of university. In such cases, students enrolling to additional courses outside their field is encouraged and welcomed. However, it is recommended that universities deliver these courses as an optional choice for students, with highlighting that additional charges will be applied.

In conclusion, universities should not compel students to enroll into courses outside of their fields. This will reduce universities tuition fees, ensure students to further focus on their field and eventually leads to better grades and GPA.