Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

We are living in an era of rapidly changing, humans are able to connect one field with other fields and create new inventions for a better life. Hence, the market is becoming more competitive and required a multitalented and multifunctional person. The prompt recommends that the university should require every student to take a course outside the student's major discipline. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestions and argue that the students should take the courses outside their major field for the following reasons.

To begin with, the current job market demands a multifunctional and multitalented person as most of the fields come together due to technological advancement. For instance, a Data Scientist job in investment banking or economic firm required prior knowledge or the basic concept of banking and economic. Because what these firms want is that, data scientists produce the programme which is able to solve the complex problem related to economy or investment in a fraction of time. Hence, Data Scientist should required to understand the basics of the field where he or she wants to do the job. The above example illustrates that the student should always take the courses outside their major as the current market demands for the person with knowledge of multiple fields.

Furthermore, the student with the knowledge of the variety of fields able to do creative innovations for the advancement of human life. For instance, the students in the field of robotics should require knowledge of mechanical engineering, electronic engineering, and computer engineering. Consequently, with the amalgam of knowledge from all these fields, students are able to produce robots which is more advanced and powerful. Also, we know that every day there is more and more advancement happening in the field of automobile, transportation, banking, space travel, communication, etc. It is possible because each and every field is coming together to provide a better solution to the existing problem. For instance, the inventions of the autonomous electric car required the knowledge of computer science, mechanical engineering, and automobile engineering. Thus, students are able to provide better inventions to society when he or she has the required knowledge of versatile fields. The above example demonstrates that the university should require it's students to take the courses outside the student's major for better innovation which made them truly helpful to society.

Of course, some argue that the variety of courses diverts the student's attention from their major field of study. Consequently, It's true that the students need to give some time to study the other fields courses, but it's the time better invested not wasted. Also, the university should offer courses that are related to the student's major or helpful to students in the future. For example, computer science students taking the course of management don't look obvious to someone. However, he or she can pursue a career in an IT company where an amalgam of both of these field's knowledge leads to a successful career. Thus, students should always be encouraged by the university to take courses outside their major.

All the things considering, we can say that the students become competitive for the job when he or she has the multitalented and multifunctional personality. Also, the mixture of knowledge leads the students to extraordinary inventions, which helps the society in numerous ways. Thus, the university should always encourage their students to take the course from different fields.