Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

All around the world, students attend universities to learn more about a particular field of study or profession and try to become adept enough to make a living out of it. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the study curriculum in the universities should be focused on the student’s field of study.

First of all, I think that requiring students to take irrelevant courses will distract them from their own field. They might get confused with these courses or even get bored since they do not really like them. For instance, requiring a Civil Engineering student to take courses in History or English literature will only confuse them and waste their time because by attending these non-related classes, they have to spend a great deal of time studying them, doing the homework, or doing the projects. They can use their time to study deeper in their own field or take some laboratory courses, which can prove to be beneficial in their future careers. It is true for all students, not just those who study Civil engineering. As a result, I think it is better for students to stay focused in the university and avoid taking irrelevant courses.

Second, taking more courses means staying more in university, which sometimes would take one semester or even one year. This is a waste of time, and of course, money. Students can use that money and that extra year to find a good job and start making money. For example, most companies hire in the summer from the new university graduates. However, suppose a university makes its students take some irrelevant courses. In that case, they have to stay in university for another semester, so they will lose that opportunity to find a job in a reputable corporation. They either have to look for jobs in other are, or wait about half a year to find a job in their field. Needless to say, there is no guarantee that corporations hire new people in the next summer. Consequently, not only should they spend more money on one extra and dispensable semester, but also they will lose some good opportunities and waste probably one year of their lives.

On the other hand, taking more diverse courses may be beneficial for some students. Students become well-rounded, and their knowledge would be comprehensive. Also, some students may even not have chosen their fields yet and still be hesitant. Through taking different courses, there is a chance that they can find their passion and interest and pursue it. That is why it is not a totally wrong idea to take various courses.

In conclusion, I believe that if students take courses that are completely relevant to their field of studies, it is better for them. They can stay focused on their field and not waste money or time on things they are not interested in.