Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.
Universities should not require every students to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study, for
the following reasons.
Firstly, every student would spend more time in college, which is equivalent to more money, for instance, a field
of study which should require four years, would become a five-year or more course due to the unrelated extra courses added to its
curriculum; not all students are wealthy enough to pay the extra fee incured due to the extended curriculum, some students
take loans in other to pay off their tuition and could lead to students incuring more debts.
In addition, some students view these courses as irrelevant, because they have decided to practice their field of study
as a profession and are eager and enthusiastic to join the labour market quick; making them take these unrelated causes would
be demoralizing and unnecessary for the students, since they are not going to use the knowledge from these extra courses anyway.
However, taking these extra courses would be beneficial, in the sense that it makes the students well rounded and
provides opportunity for a shift in career related to the extra courses along the line or a change in role in the organization
the students are working. For example, John, an Electrical Engineer at company xyz took some management courses during his
college days, he then intends to change from Engineering department to the management in the same organization or apply for a
management role in another company, the management related courses he took in school would come in handy to make this shift more
convenient. Although cases like these are not really a strong reason as to why students should take those extra courses outside
their field of study, because the main reason the student applied to the field of study was that he/she was going to practice
the field as a profession, so the odds to this not happening isn't as high enough as to consider including these course in their
curriculum.
In conclusion, I oppose the notion that universities should require every students to take a variety of courses outside
the student's field of study as expressed by my reasons in the paragraphs above.