Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Students pick their field of study either because they are passionate about that stream or because it promises the most lucrative job offers in future. In both cases, students focus all their attention on subjects limited to their field. How can a student be confident that their interest will forever be limited only to their field of study or that jobs related to courses outside their field of study will not land them lucrative jobs? This prompt recommends that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside their field of study. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that every student should be exposed to the plethora of courses available outside of their field of study so that they can make the best use of it, for two reasons.

A parochial outlook in curating course work for students does not give them adequate exposure to the different courses on offer. They remain myopic in their outlook, fail to identify where their passion truly lies and just follow set norms not realising that each individual is unique. In India, until very recently, students were required to pick one out of three fields of study- science, commerce and the arts. Once that choice was made, there was no looking back and taking additional courses was not the norm. This lead to the creation of two groups of people. The first were fortunate enough to like what they did and believed that they had found their true calling. However, second group abhorred what they had pursued but were helpless because they didn’t know where their passion lay. Had these people been exposed to courses outside of their field of study, they could have made a more informed decision. For example, a person, while studying to become a doctor could have dabbled in one or two languages or an individual working to become an MBA graduate could have taken a few science courses, may be to gain some extra knowledge or perhaps even abandon his current field and follow his passion. This example underscores the importance of taking up varied courses to help students gain a good insight into where their interest truly lies.

There are several universities that offer diverse courses. For example, a certain university has its own Quidditch team. If students are given the opportunity to try their hand at this game, they may start to enjoy it and before we know it, it may be one of the game played at the Olympics with these students representing their respective countries. It is far more beneficial for universities to require students to try their hand at different courses than to stick to one filed. Just imagine a student reluctantly doing his math homework everyday when he has the talent to be the world’s best Quidditch player and doesn’t even know about it because never got the chance to develop his skill.

Some people may argue that one must focus all their attention on the task at hand rather than dabbling in different courses so be able to imbibe the maximum possible information fom that specific field. But what if someone is a pro at multitasking and can and wants to gain information from diverse fields? Shouldn’t they be encouraged? It is imperative that universities offer their students diverse courses so that the students may use them to the best of their advantage.