Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The prompt suggests that universities should make it compulsory for every student to take many courses and subjects outside their field of study. I mostly agree with the statement, because of the following two reasons. However, I do concede that it could be a reason to lengthen the curriculum, and might lead to distraction from the main subject.

First of all, studying other subjects always adds to the profile, and boosts one’s portfolio, which later helps students to get better jobs, receive admission from better schools for higher education, and perform better out in the world. For instance, because it was made compulsory in my university to study mass communication as an add-on subject along with the computer science major, I was able to hone my soft skills, which helped me a lot to ace my interviews. And, my confidence increased. Also, most of the job descriptions require students to be holistically good, and they demand candidates to be all-rounders. Hence, in my opinion, some subjects outside the major courses are always good, and it will always improve student’s perspective, and hence is a must.

Secondly, this enforcement allows people to meet new students from other fields, get along with them, and broaden their circle. For example, during my sophomore year, I had the option to choose psychology as an elective subject, because of this, I had to take classes at the humanities department of the university, which led me to make great friends. Had I not been given a chance to study these other subjects I would not have met them. Apart from widening my knowledge, it led me to it is wonderful to have friends and acquaintances from several other areas. Studies show that one increases their luck by expanding their network. Having good connections leads to a plethora of opportunities. Therefore, universities and schools should consider adding other subjects and courses for everyone.

However, I do concede that this change might lengthen the curriculum and it could take additional time to complete the degree. And, it could also distract students from the main subject. Hence, universities should make sure that only limited courses are added, and it would also be better to have a lenient marking scheme for these additional subjects because it would then not overburden students.

To conclude, I strongly agree that adding extra subjects and courses from other fields is very important in a student's journey to graduate as a holistic personality. It would enhance their knowledge, help them see things from a fresh perspective, broaden their network, perform better out in the world. But, along with this, we must keep in mind the course length so that it doesn’t lengthen the degree completion time.