Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study

University is a perfect place to practice knowledge by studying a variety of books both inside and outside their field of study. Some scholars argue that educational institutes should compulsorily include a range of outside courses in their curriculum so that students can elucidate their knowledge to be an erudite person in future. Well, studying books from outside the field is a great idea but making it required is not always effective due to two reasons. In my opinion, I disagree with the mentioned prompt as required reading of outside books somehow will be cumbersome for many students and it might also be financially burdensome for many.

To begin with, at university students need to do a lot of practical work, seminar, presentations and so on, moreover students need to finish them within a specific timeframe. For instances, In Bangladesh an undergraduate student is required to finish 130 credits within four years. Furthermore, in many subjects they are required to do one year internship along with the courses. If they need to study more courses that are not related with their subject area that will be quite difficult especially if that outside courses are being very different than their area of expertise. For example, if a literature student has to study quantum physics than undoubtedly it would be terrifying. Thus, studying outside books compulsorily at university is not thoughtful always.

Further, except European countries, university study is not free worldwide. In fact, it is quite expensive nowadays. Not all students can afford university level education. Most of the students do parttime job or take student loan to bear the expenses. If university make variety of courses mandatory, it will be burdensome for the financially needy students. Not only that, students have to study extra hours which perhaps be more problematic for the students who work parttime to continue their study.

However, I do concede the fact that university level students need to study outside books to sharpen their knowledge. In fact, there are many examples that many people are skilled in completely different area of their study. One of the perfect examples could be Noam Chomsky, who primarily studied mathematics, but has many theories about linguistics and now who is world famous critic. If a student fond of read outside books, he or she will do it regardless their workload or limited time. All university have library and teachers may encourage them to read outside books more but making it a requirement may not be a plausible idea.

In conclusion, I believe that, studying outside subjects is a great idea and students should do so, but university should not make it mandatory. As many students come from poor background, to complete such courses they might be faced hardship. Also, if the outside books are completely different than the subjective courses, many students could find it difficult to finish it within limited timeframe. Therefore it could be more reasonable that universities encourage the students to study outside courses that they are truly interested instead of making variety of courses required reading.