Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The time we are living now cannot think without sciences. From the mundane aspects of life to the most exclusive without sciences life is unthinkable. Does the science always do the betterment? The answer would probably be no. There is a famous saying that ‘science and technology are the keys of both our longevity and demise.’ Science has two parts-one is constructive and the other is destructive. So, blatantly saying that Government should place no restriction is dangerous.

Take for instance the situation of scientific research on nuclear bomb or prohibited medicine. Both have significantly deleterious impact. In terms of nuclear bomb, we can recall the tragic history of Hiroshima Nagasaki. I still remember while studying history book as a child I was confounded to think that how can someone made such things that kills people. The consequences of nuclear bombing in Hiroshima Nagasaki are still evident. The land is still unsuitable for farming and the new-borns near to that place still show range of disabilities. Moreover, many people still suffer from mental trauma due to such heinous act.

Now let’s focus on prohibited medicine like LSD, cocaine, or heroin- there are so many known unknown prohibited medicines often called as illegal or street medicine. Such drugs often have deadly impact on the body and mind ranging from creating mere hallucination to uncontrollable addiction, sometimes people kill themselves. The addiction is sometimes such unbridled that people may engage various illegal jobs to arrange the money to buy this.

Needless to say, that illegal medicine is infamously profitable business. Drug dealers, all over the world are actively fund such kind of so-called scientific research. In fact, many politicians are directly linked with such acts.

The above examples are the destructive aspects of scientific research. This is parallelly happening with the constructive ones. If government do not place any restriction, the things will be much worser. Therefore, for such kind of scientific studies, government should be restrictive. In fact, government should take strict steps those fund this kind of acts.

However, what if the scientific research is more about human welfare? Let’s consider the development of Artificial Intelligence more specifically. Development of medicine and surgery procedure are substantially visible in this era. Once, during operation patients felt the pain, now we have anaesthesia, once people died due to mere influenza, now we have cheap yet life saving vaccine. All of these are possible because of scientific research. As a most recent example we can talk about Covid-19 pandemic. From 2020, worldwide people suffer from deadly corona virus. Millions of people died and still suffering. Again, scientific research in the place of protector. After several trial and error, in 2021 people got the most awaited vaccine. After that now in 2022 that virulent virus is controlled, all thanks to the scientific researchers. Needless to say for this kind of research government should not place any restriction, moreover, government should provide more fund and should encourage private organization to fund such kind of research.

In conclusion, as science is like a coin and has two completely opposite characteristics, government should be thoughtful whether the restriction will be place or not. When scientific research will be related to any kind of fishy things government should intervene and immediately stall the process. On the other hand, for the welfare of society government should provide support and independence to conduct scientific research.