Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

It is generally thought that university level study should be very comprehensive so that a student can study variety of subjects. The statement emphasis that university should make a requirement for students to take courses outside the field. It could be true that by studying many subjects’ students can earn more knowledge and understanding about various field of study. However, it should be entirely student’s choice to learn subjects that are not included in the courses because students are required to pay extra money and invest extra time to finish these courses.

It is always commendable if a student prefers to take extra courses. Because studying various subjects helps to gain better judgement and understanding of the world. Also, students can discover new interest and become prominent on that. For example, Benjamin Whorf was an engineer, but his admiration about linguistic behaviour leads him to discover one of the most established linguistic theory called ‘Sapir Whorf Hypothesis’. So, studying new subjects is always should be welcomed by the university. However, university should not make any requirement that student have to take new subjects because new courses require more money and time to finish.

University level study is quite expensive in many countries. Often students need to take loan to complete their study. New courses require more tuition fees which is quite burdensome for many of the students. Moreover, international students have other limitations including living cost and time constrains which will make difficult complete extra courses outside the field. Therefore, it should be student’s choice if she wants to take extra courses or not. University cannot make such strict requirement where the students may face the vulnerability to give up on studies.

Moreover, if students have to take courses that are difficult for them to finish, it will be frustrating. Because if somehow, they can’t get good score on this certain subject, the overall grade will be affected. For example, in the University of Dhaka, Bangladesh, students are required to take ‘Second Language’ apart from English as a mandatory subject. Learning a second language is not easy especially when students have to focus on so many courses, assignments and exams. Consequently, many students unable to get good score on that particular course. It becomes more intimidating when a student fail on that course because without passing she cannot get final certificate. For this reason, many students have to retake the course and wait one more year to finish graduation. This is a big issue because time is crucial after graduation for finding suitable jobs. If the second language course was optional, this situation might not arise.

In conclusion, it should be welcomed if a student wants to study subjects that are not included on the main course. But university cannot force the student to take variety of outside subjects because it is not only required extra money but also it requires extra time and sometimes negatively affect the overall grade if students find it difficult to study.