Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Education is a fundamental right of every person and it should be done in a right way. In the contemporary world, a variety of subjects have evolved across all fields from which a student can learn. As compared to earlier times, students do not have limited options to choose as their career. I partially agree to the claim that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Giving this liberty to students allows them to explore more about their likings and dis-likings towards a particular field. They can learn and understand the world better. Knowledge that is gained never goes waste. Some or the other time in life, it helps. This opportunity can be a life changing event for many people. For example, I always wanted to do master’s in business management with human resource as the specialization since I enrolled for my graduation. But in the second year, I opted for statistics as another subject to study. Now, I have a more proclivity towards statistics than business administration and have decided to take up my masters in statistics.

Learning a variety of courses can also be an opportunity for a person to have a multi-cropping revenue system. One can convert the knowledge he learned through the extra courses into a revenue generating activity. For example, if a student pursuing engineering gets an opportunity to study photography which is a lot different from his field of study, he can start freelancing and earn revenue from it.

Though there are advantages of learning different subjects outside the student’s field of course, it can be very time consuming and the student won’t be able to focus on his main subjects. He will be burdened with assignments and projects which may be difficult for him to complete and this will lead to cause stress. He will be constantly distracted by the thought of doing well in all subjects and may be end scoring actually less.

The universities should have subjects that are compulsory to learn. For example, in the Indian context, law in everyday life should be a compulsory subject because then the students will know and understand the reality of how the world is and how to act in alignment of law and society.

Hence, the universities should provide every student an option of learning different courses from outside his field of study but it should not be mandatory to do so. This should be completely decided by the students taking the consequences, advantages as well as disadvantages into consideration.