Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

University is an important part of every students life, students will learn skills that they will carry with them for the rest of their lives. Hence, it is important for every student to be compentent in the specific field they select, and it is imperative for universities to make sure every student has and opportunity to be successful in their specific fields after graduation. Therefore, universities must create syllabus' for courses that create specialization in the desired field, and it is necessary that students are given all the knowledge they can in the specific field so they can get the best education, especially, if the student has pre-selected the field they want to specialize in.

In a capitalist, society to gain an edge over other labour the labourer must specialize in a skill. University is one of these avenue through which workforce labour is created. Hence, if the university fails to help do this through its courses, and offers various different courses it will make a degree less effective. Since, some of the time that should have been spend on the learning of a specific skill is now deviated to other subject. Which the student will not make use of once they graduate. A university degree should never deviate from its core subject of the field if more subjects and topics can be covered regarding the degree specialization it should be covered. A student can learn about other subjects out of the degree on their own time.

Secondly, If a student pre-selects a major he or she, wants to learn as much they can about that subject, so it does not make sense to have other subjects costing students the ability to learn skills in their desired major. Students selected the degree major to gain as much knowledge as possible. They paid tuition to learn as much as they can about a skill and if the university give them variety of different course the students are not getting their money's worth.

To reiterate, the job of the university to make sure it provides students with the desired education in the degree major. When the university deviates from this it is costly to the students future as they have less knowledge attained in the subject field making specialization of labour difficult. In addition, have variety of subject is unfair for students since they paid money to learn about a specific skill but are now forced to learn about a skill that they perhaps are not interested in.