Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Recently, the topic of diversity and inclusion has begun to gain attention in schools and workplaces, and active attempts to foster diversity could start from educational settings. The prompt argues that tertiary institutions should require that students offer a wide range of courses outside their field of interest. I mostly agree with this idea for two reasons that will be outlined below. However, I do concede that having a focused curriculum for students that align with their interest fosters mastery.

To begin, the idea that students should offer a wide range of courses is a good one because it allows students to have a holistic education and promotes their development of diverse skills. For instance, a student that is majoring in Robotics can offer a course in psychology and philosophy. This may improve the students’ knowledge of human behavior and they may be a be to apply this knowledge in building robots that are more human-like and also help them to build ethical machines. Also, A student that is majoring in data science can be required to offer a course in business. This may allow them to gain relevant business skills that would benefit them by making them more equipped and employable, especially in business settings. It is therefore evident that mandating students to take courses outside their field would mostly likey broaden their perspectives and improve their critical thinking, thus making this idea a good one.

Secondly, mandating students to take courses that are not in their field of study allows for interdisciplinary collaboration and networking. Some people argue that it even promotes unity and communication across various disciplines. For instance, when students majoring in marketing, software development and data science collaborate, the chances that they might come up with relevant and user-oriented applications that would in turn lead to technological advances are increased. This is because they would bring the knowledge from their various fields of expertise and amalgamate it into sought-after software to improve the lives of people. Also taking courses that are not in a student's department would mean that they would have to go to other departments for classes, and this fosters networking. This is because they would have opportunities to mingle with people from diverse backgrounds and this may be a means to achieve a united and culturally diverse environment in universities. Therefore, requiring students to offer a broad range of course outside their field, allow them to appreciate the importance of other courses and show them that several disciplines can work together and make useful societal impacts through concerted efforts.

Admittedly, offering a wide range of courses might not be beneficial as it may increase the workload of students and may not allow them the time to become well-grounded in their field of study. For example, if a student has too many courses to offer in a semester, it may not allow them the time to really study and gain in-depth knowledge as the time to do so may be limited. This may negatively affect the student’s performance for the semester. Thus, taking a variety of courses may not be advisable if it would cause students' performance to wane.

To conclude, I argue that students should be mandated to take courses outside their fields of study for the two reasons outlined above. However, I do admit that it may not be convenient for students especially when it increases their workload for the semester, and thus a balance should be considered when requiring students to take elective courses.