Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying

It is the responsibility of an education institution to develop a curricilum that caters to the diverse interests of the students and also support their holistic development. It should not restrict the students from taking courses outside their fields of interest. Students during their freshman year might not be fully aware of where there interests lie. During their senior years students become mature enough to decide where their interests lie and what courses should be taken to support their career. Hence in mandating this policy, universities may be forcing students to define their interests when they may not be knowing that. Hence I do not completely concur with the policy that universities should control how the students take courses. In today education system, a lot of fields are inter-disciplinary. Students studying majoring in one field might require some basic knowledge in other fields for applications. For example , artificial intelligence may require the knowlege of computer science, mathematics and behavioral science too. Hence if a university prescribes a limited number of courses for students majoring in artificial intelligence, it may become difficult for a student to study courses that may be relevant for her study, but not available for selection. Universities may not be able to analyses in what direction a student develops his career and study, nor does a university have the right to restrict that. A student should be free to develop his course of study under guidance from professors and experienced scholars. It would imprudent to restrict the number of courses. Since what constitutes an interest is very difficult to define in a list of courses. Schools are seats of elementary education, when students are young and need knowledge of a lot of subjects for their development. Universities are institutions of higher education in a state. It is wise on their part to let the students be free to choose what they want to study, provide them with counselling to help them decide and let them explore where there interests lie. In mandating this policy the universities would rather be taking a toll on themselves. They would have to decide what can be the various fields of study, which is in itself a seemingly unsurmountable task. Further they would have to delegate the responsibilty of developing a couses list to various departments. It is incumbent on the departments to develop a course list taht caters to the students and does not circumscibe their horizon of study. I believe that implementing this policy is not a wothwhile option for the students as well as the universities. There should definitely be some discipline, where the advisors can require their scholars to take a compulsory list of courses . But studenst should be left with certain credits to allocate to courses that they want to study, irrespective of what their interests are.