Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I agree with the statement to some extent that students should take courses only within the fields they are interested in studying. Ultimately, universities are nurturing the young minds who will go into the industry and will contribute to the society. having said that, the statement holds a strong bias towards courses outside the student's field. perhaps, a more balanced approached should be considered.

First, students in that field should focus on courses that will give them more knowledge and deeper insights that will impact their future careers. In fact, many hard science courses are structured in such a way that knowledge are built on top of each other, and this requires lots of effort and time. Supposedly, a student chooses to take on a course that has no relevance to his/her other courses. Not only does it consume the time and effort of him, it might also result in a very weak foundation.

Second, universities play a multifaceted role of not just being a center of higher education, but also, to contribute to the society. if a student has to take courses that are of irrelevance to his/her career, perhaps it would be better that the student enter the workforce earlier to support the country's economy.

Thirdly, some students might take courses out of self-centered interests. For example, in order to graduate, it is required for the student to clear a minimum number of credits. In doing so, the student might be tempted to take a course that is easier to scrap through.

Consequently, upon graduation, the student may not sufficient knowledge to perform his role in his/her job.

it is not to say that universities have to take a hard stance on not allowing the students to study outside their field of interests. While it is important to learn all required courses in one's field, allowing one to explore other subjects might nurture a more creative person. For example, science students who have studied art subjects might go on to create technologies related to animation. this is especially the case of many 'imaginary' engineers who are working in Disney today. Thus, they have indeed brought lots of fun and joy to people around the world through a multidisplinary education.

In sum, it is in the best interests for the students to fulfill all the necessary cirrculum within his/her field. However, if one has the ability or the curiousity to go beyond that, the university should encourage it.