Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The idea that colleges should require students to take only the classes they are interested in seems to be popular amongst students frustrated by taking classes they think they will never need. The idea sounds beneficial, but in practice, has many more negatives than positives. Colleges should continue to require students to take courses in a variety of subjects, not simply those they are interested in.

When a student enters college, their goal is typically to complete an education that prepares them for a career in a field they are interested in. However, in many instances, students begin college without knowing what career journey they want to embark upon. They might be interested in studying French, Calculus, and Medieval History. A student in that situation would have a very difficult time picking a path of interest from which to choose classes. By requiring general electives as a starting point, colleges provide the opportunity for students to winnow their choices into one interest they can feel confident in pursuing.

Even in an ideal world, in which a student graduating from high school feels certain they have picked the field they are most interested in, by relegating that student to one type of class, colleges are preventing the student from completing a truly well-rounded education. If a student wants to become a math teacher, they should not simply take math courses. As a teacher, of any subject, it is imperative that they have a well-rounded education, so that they may also educate in a well-rounded manner. By eliminating variety in course type, colleges would be eliminating variety in the knowledge of their graduates, something no college would seek to do.

However, it is important to consider the amount of time and money that students are forced to spend on classes that might not serve their final occupational interests and goals. If a student is confident that they want to be a writer, that student could argue that advanced mathematics courses would not be beneficial, but rather prevent them from entering their chosen occupation as quickly, as well as adding more of a financial burden.

In conclusion, if universities were to require students to only take courses within the fields they were studying, they would prevent students from having the opportunity to hone their interests and decide what path they should take. Additionally, students would not be as well-rounded, and they would miss out on the richness of education that comes from learning things outside of your comfort zone. Although these students might save time and money by only taking classes that fit their interests, they would be losing much more.