We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement whether we learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own is controversial On the surface, it appears that we would learn a lot by associating with people who have same opinions as our own as it would be easy to work with them and there won't be a waste of time in contending each other. However, a deeper look at the topic reveals that actually we can only learn something new or profound from people whoes views differ from our own view. The primary reason behind it has to do with the fact that associating with people of same opinions won't broaden our horizons. We won't learn anything new from what we already know. On other hand, people holding opposite or contradictory view can impart us knowledge or give us vision to visualize the problem at hand from a different perspective which may reveal a new insight in the subject.

The field of science and technology has progressed immeasurably owing to the great work of our scientists and engineers. If we look at the underlying causes of some important innovations and breakthroughs, we would find that great work came from those who looked at the nature from unorthodox viewpoint. For instance, the classic discovery by Galileo that the Earth roates around the Sun contrary to the firmly held belief that the Earth was the centre of the universe and everything revolved around the Earth. The people of the Church were adament to their view and instead of discussing Galileo's viewpoint rationally they sent him to a jail. However, some prudent scientist working on astronomical observations studied the argument of Galileo without any personal bias and they found that indeed Galieo's theory was correct. Physicists of that time even used Galieo's theory to explain other phenomena such as why planets revolve in an elliptical fashion. This examples shows that we can get new insights from a person holding a different view from us. Further, one has to be open minded to opinions from others otherwise even if the opponent is correct, we won't be able to gain anything.

Not only in science but in businesses also we find that people with un-orthodox opinions are the creators of novel products. Take for example the case of Steve jobs. It was by his creative imaginations and the power to forsee future in a manner different from others that made him the CEO of one of the biggest companies in

the world. He invented the concept of touchscreen smartphones and manifested this concept through his product called iPhone. No-one at the time could have imagined that people can operate a phone by touching their fingers on the screen. Those who accepted the ingenuity of Steves idea benefited as well. Today we see a plethora of smart-screen phones in the marked. The button mobile phones are a history now.

In sum, we do learn a lot from people holding different opinons than ours simply because they give us a different way to look at the problem a hand which could enlighten to come up with a novel solutions. However, it is also true that we have to have an open mind set in order to dervive benefit from the contrasting view points otherwise a blanket of dogma can bound our imaginations to a limited area.