We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose

views contradict our own.

Learning is an everyday process and we get to encounter different situations where we agree or disagree an opinion of different people, but we mostly remember the discussion when someone contradicts our opinion. Learning from contradiction, is not only used in daily life but also in academics where we discover new ideas, when something that should work doesn’t actually work and we understand the reason why it didn’t. In mathematics, we use the idea of contradiction to prove different theorems and axioms. I am consonant with the given topic and believe that contradiction of views helps to learn much more compared to not being contradicted. Examples of this are witty politicians, lawyers and scientists – all professionals who use contradiction to achieve higher degree of wisedom and popularities.

Politics is often considered as one of the area where we mostly see lots of contradictions and debates going on. Politicians keep their eyes wide open to the oppositions and try to contradict their views. During this process, they perform lot of research and brainstrom ideas about the topic. They therefore gain insights about both aspects of the topic and express their opinion. Politicians like Barak Obama are examples of people who analyze contradicions, evaluate both aspects of it and finally act sagaciously. This is not to say that without contradictions we cannot learn. We have examples where occupations like teaching don’t face much contradictions but are intelligent. But the politicians are more powerful and respectful and are more prescient than teachers.

Another example is a lawyer where he contradicts the opposition’s argument everyday and tries to learn about the consequences and results of it. This makes him more artful and makes him more wiser. During the process of defending the client, the lawyer seeks every possible way to contradict another party. This directly enhances his research and analysis about the topic. He studies about every single way he can get defeted and looks himself from the eyes of the opponent. This makes the lawyer learn more about the topic and helps to imrove his abilities.

Scientists are another type of people who always seek for contradictions. They find the topic of research by contradicting the idea given by scientists in the past. They try to contradict the old idea or hypothesis and bring new prespective of idea. They research about what was assumed and outcome of past and what they should do next to bring new desired result.

Many might argue that contradicting idea can discourage learning and research. While it’s impossible to definitely disprove this assertion and it may be true that contradicting can deterioate learning, but many examples point that contradictions are necessary and are the quicker process of learning. We all face contradictions in our home, professions and everywhere. We mostly remember only those moments and lessons when someone contradicted us and we were forced to learn more about our view of the topic. The examples of politicians, lawyers and scientists prove this. All of these can learn by themselves but are more intelligent when contradictions become their part of life.