We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the

statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt states that we can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own. In my opinion, learning comes from different perspectives toward one issue rather than one single perspective.Something that feels right to someone might be felt differently by another person, it depends on a number of factors. So, I disagree with the prompt and would like to support my stance with the following examples.

The field of scientific research is filled with contradictory opinions. A theory proved today is disproved tomorrow and this helps in augmenting the field of research. For example, say a new device is launched to detect cancer cells early in people. The inventors already know the reason behind the research and how it helps to the society. People who have the same view as them might just repeat to them the advantages that the inventors might already know. On the other hand, if someone is against the device, they might have a cogent argument regarding the disadvantages of it, how it might have a negative effect on the society. Consequently, this might lead to an improvement in the device which would not have been possible otherwise.

Secondly, the democratic governments across the world always have two parties - the ruling party and the opposition party. Why is an opposition party required? One, it is to question the rule of the ruling party and two, to present contradictory views towards certain issues which helps the government make a better final decision. Say, a new industry is marking its entry into the country and while one party might see the advantages, the other party might point out the disadvantages. In this way, one

can see which side would be better for the nation.

Another example would be the protest in TamilNadu, a few years back against PETA for banning a cultural sport. According to PETA, cows were being tortured during these games and so they issued a ban on it. But the people of TamilNadu didn't share the same view. They proved that they were not injuring animals and that every possible measure was taken to protect the cows during the game. This helped people across India understand the importance of the sport and how much people were dedicated towards saving these animals. If PETA just went by the people who shared the same opinion, they could have never have seen the actual truth behind it.

To conclude, usually people learn from everyone around them, be it those who support them or those who are against them. But to learn one's mistakes and improve upon is only possible from people who are against our beliefs. And so, one can usually learn much more from people whose views contradict our own.