We venerate loyalty-- to our schools, employers, institutions, friends-- as a virtue. Loyalty, however, can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one

Loyalty simply defined as having an unflinching support to a cause is considered a virtue by many religions and cultures of the world. In Islam for example one is considered a "munafiq" (hypocrite) when he is not faithful or loyal to the tenets of the religion. Hence loyalty is one of the most universally accepted moral virtue that is worthy of commendation. However loyalty is a two edge sword, it can have both good and bad effect on an individual.

But what do we mean by loyalty being as good as bad? Does this mean that we are promoting treachery vaunting it as a means to an end? Definitely being loyal is a venerated behaviour with innumerable benefits.

For example, Loyalty preserves the foundation of a marriage. It is one of the most important requirement for the consummation of a marriage and it's maintenance. Both husband and wife are required to be faithful to one another. Thus, a marriage with paucity of material wealth can be sustained when both parties are loyal to each other. Consequently, such a marriage will result in the raising of children that values loyalty as a virtue.

The importance of loyalty in a political party cannot be overemphasized. An individual with the least proclivity for unfaithfulness will be denied the presidential ticket of a political party. President Muhammadu Buhari (PMB) won the presidential ticket of the newly formed All Progressive Congress back in 2014 against his opponent Alhaji Atiku Abubakar due to the latters propensity for being unfaithful to a political party.

Moreover employers always appreciate and reward loyal employees. In fact, most of the agreement in an appointment letter points towards one thing, loyalty. Employee-employer relationship would definitely not last long if one party is not committed to the terms agreed in such appointment letters.

But loyalty with all it's benefits is as good as bad. it hurt so bad when we are betrayed. Not only that, it can affect our mental health as well. There have been cases of clinical depression due to an acrimonious divorce when one of the spouse betrays the other. The affected spouse got depression because he or she was loyal.

Can you imagine that after several years of President Barack Obama loyalty to the Democratic party he was denied the party's presidential ticket just because of his skin colour or some other unjustifiable accusations? He will perhaps doubt himself for the rest of his life

Hence, in conclusion while it's not encourage that anyone be disloyal, it is also important that we evaluate our loyalty for a cause intermittently. This will obviate possible detrimental effect that such loyalty can have on us and of course enhance our loyalty for that cause once we found it worthy