When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the world is heading towards modernization, it becomes ineluctable to preserve things of historical significance. As modern and latest things supersede the old ones. The above statement states that modern development should be the priority and hence old buildings could be renovated according to the latest conventions. I mostly disagree with the above statement, as old buildings are reflective of the old times and should be preserved. Modernization of these buildings for modern purposes could deteriorate the primary value of the building. I have further analyzed my point of view using three examples.

Firstly, Historic buildings are reminiscent of old times and they serve important value in current times. Modernization is unavoidable but we can still aim to preserve some of the buildings that serve the core value. Some old buildings are important that are symbolic of our culture and traditions. For eg, the Qutub Minar situated in Delhi is representative of the times before independence. When Monarchy used to prevail, several kings and queens built monuments that now are representative of that era. It reminds us of the culture and traditions of that era, the good old times. Some monuments also hold memories of important events that took place in those times. For instance, India’s first Independent flag was first hoisted at Red fort by the very first prime minister of India. In memory of that every year on Independence day Red Flag is hoisted at Red fort. Hence Old buildings serve us as a reminder of important events. Usage of the old buildings for modern purposes ruins the primary significance of the place and the event and hence should be avoided as much as possible.

Secondly, Old buildings also serve important architectural value. For instance, let's say Tajmahal situated in Agra, India is one of the 7 wonders of the world. It’s reminiscent of King Shahjahan and his love story. It is one of the most incredible monuments ever made which took 20 years to build. It is impossible to be replicated even by modern-day architectures and with all the advancements in technology. Its fine details were meticulously drawn by the labors of those times and it stands out as an incredible component of the architect that never fails to amaze.

Thirdly, there is plenty of space to built modern buildings and utilize them for modern purposes and already a lot of construction is been taken place in accordance with the utilization of place. Old buildings, may also not serve the purpose properly because a lot of modifications such as renovation, customization have to be done. This can require a lot of time and money and we might still not get the end result as satisfactory as a new development would have given. And in the end, the charm of the old building is lost. It is better if the old buildings are preserved for sightseeing and casual activities and should not be transformed entirely for modern purposes.

To conclude, Old buildings should be preserved whenever possible, as they are reflective of the old culture and tradition of a place or country. Utilizing old buildings for modern purposes doesn’t seem a very good idea.