Does Travel help to promote understanding and communication between countries?

In my opinion for knowing and understanding different countries and cultures, we need to do many researchers and collecting data’s. Definitely travelling to other countries is one of the best way to know about the culture, history, economy and understanding the communication and behaviour of other countries.

I have a very interesting experience that could show how much people could misunderstood about other countries if they just listen to the news and not doing their own research or not traveling to see other cultures and countries by themselves.

Since I immigrated to Canada, I have had to explain to several people about our culture in Iran. Most of the people think all of the Iranian are Muslim. It is wrong! The population of Iran is 70milions. We have large amount of people who are Atheist, Agnostic, Christian, Joiesh or Baha’i that they are living near Muslim in Iran. We wish to have secular government, but if we don’t have it right now it doesn’t mean that other groups are not exist.

Having a large population of other believer caused that, although the government in Iran is Muslim, our culture is very different from other Muslim countries. We speak and wright Persian (Parsi). Our women going to the university and have high education like men. Married with more than one wife is illegal (although there are some exceptions). Iran is a very rich country. Selling natural resources give to the government incredible power. Iranian are very famous for hospitality. Friends and family are very valuable for them. Honestly and trust fully are very important. The history of Iran started from 2500 years ago. Studding the civilization for that time shows that it was an amazing culture.

So how the people around the world can have better idea to other cultures when all of their knowledge are based on what they read and hear from the news. I believe one of the best way to know other cultures and countries is to travel around the world and find out what is the truth.