Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

Definitely freedom of speech is one of the most important items for free society. People who are living in countries which they cannot talk about government, education, economies and other things related to the government, they are like a person who live in prison.

I was born and grow up in Iran. Iran is one of the most beautiful and rich countries in the world with a long and interesting history. Because of the money which the government earn by selling oil, gas and other natural resources, the technology, economy, health and education are in high level. Definitely in the country which seventy million people are living, we still have lots of problems which need to talk about them and work on them very hard to make a better country to live.

Unfortunately most of the people in Iran are not happy with the government. They don’t feel freedom because they cannot talk about anything related to the government and their society. Newspaper journalist cannot write their opinions. Teachers and professors cannot talk about these either. Filmmaker cannot make film to show problems in our society to encourage people to ask the government why they don’t do their duty?

In my opinion freedom in speech is one of the most important freedom that is necessary for the society. When the people can talk about the problem, they can find the solution too. We never can solve an issue when we hide it under the carpet. We need to take it out, talk about it, listen to different opinions and figure out what is the best for society.