A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Since the dawn of history, animals have inhabited earth and lived along side human beings. Some people opine that animals should be used for research and food while others opine differently. In this essay, I shall discuss both views and give my opinion.

Firstly, some people argue that meat is an essential part of the food chain. For example, meat is a source of protein which is necessary for good health. Other foods may contain protein, however, these proteins are simple and not complex in nature. Hence, animal meat is crucial for human growth and prosperity.

Secondly, certain people believe that it is necessary to try novel drugs on animals first. For example, some new drugs can be hazardous and can have serious side effects, however, if these drugs are tried on animals first, scientists then can change the composition of these drugs and make them safe for human use. Therefore, it is evident why some believe that it is crucial to use animals for research.

On the other hand, proponents of animal rights argue that animals just like humans have feelings and emotions. As an example, a cow in India mourned the death of its friend for a long time by repeatedly roaming around the site where its friend had died. Therefore, it is clear why some people believe animals should have the same rights as humans.

In summary, after analysing both views, I support the idea that animals should be used for food and research as we can’t lead a healthy life without complex proteins and trying new medicines on animals first can save human lives.