More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems overreliance on cars can cause, and suggests at least one possible solution.

People have always needed some kinds of transport to commute in daily life, and owning a car is perceived to be a common option by a majority of people. However, too much reliance on private cars as the main mode of transportation can cause problems. This essay will explain the problems and finally suggest some solutions.

First of all, although it is common sense that using private cars as the main mean of transportation is preferred for the convenience they offer, too many cars on the road cause traffic congestion especially during peak hours in metropolitan areas. This causes commuters longer time to travel from home to workplace. Adding to that, as cars use gasoline or diesel, the carbon dioxide emitted from the cars is harmful not only to the environment but also to other travellers who breathe the air. Furthermore, more cars on the road may increase traffic accidents and kill innocent lives. Road casualty, for instance, is particularly high in developing countries where traffic law is not strictly enforced.

The above problems can be solved in many ways, and usually the government and law enforcement play a leading role. First, the government can develop an efficient public transportation system such as bus and train as an alternative mean to private cars. This can reduce traffic jams, while at the same time road casualty can be kept at minimal level. Moreover, the government, in order to control the number of vehicles on the road, can increase import duty on imported cars and raise the road tax. This solution will not only reduce the number of cars but also contribute to the government revenue through tax collection.

To conclude, overreliance on private cars causes problems in many ways. However, the government can resolve the problems by developing more efficient means of public transportation and introducing some sorts of control on imported cars.