More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems overreliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Over the last decades, the rapid innovation in both technology and science has generated considerable changes in the human life. In the past, people used to mainly commute by bicycles or motorcycles; yet, today personal cars have become the most popular type of transportation worldwide. The increasingly reliance on cars obviously result in various problems that strongly affect the society. This essay will discuss some of the main issues associated with the dependence on cars, and then suggest viable ways to tackle them.

First of all, the upward trend of traffic congestion, especially during the rush hours, is considered as the principle problem related to overuse of cars. Due to the convenience cars offer, more and more people enjoy owning cars as their main vehicles. As a result, traffic jams have become more serious during peak hours, and the commuters have to spend much longer time to drive between home and workplace and vice versa. For example, as reported, in Sydney, one of the most car-dependent cities, the traffic congestion causes the delay of around 11 minutes and 10 minutes in the morning and afternoon peak respectively. In addition, the fact that large number of cars operated also generates air pollution. The harmful gases emitted from vehicles, such as carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide would not only affect the environment, but also do influence on people breathing the air. According to EPA in the US, the average annual carbon dioxide emission of a typical vehicle is about 4.7 metric tons, which may contribute majority part to the high level of air pollution around the world.

To solve the above problems, many approaches can be applied. Firstly, the government should encourage the residents to travel by public transportation, including trains, buses, trams, and subway, instead of driving their own cars. The authorities could use more budget to improve the public transport system or offer more discounts for those who regularly use public transportation. For instance, as the Singapore government invested lots of money to construct an efficient public transportation system, more and more citizens prefer travelling by bus and subway to driving cars, then the traffic congestion has dropped significantly. Another viable method is to impose higher taxes on cars. People may have to pay a large amount of money if they possess personal cars. Therefore, to reduce the costs, cars would be no longer an optimal choice for commuting.

In conclusion, it is clear that over-dependence on personal cars can cause serious traffic jams and air pollution. However, the issues would certainly be able to tackled by using the public transportation. So, I highly recommend the authorities and individuals should co-operate to solve the problems and make our lives better.