“Prevention is better than cure” Out of country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

“Prevention is better than cure”. I totally agree with the statement. As a matter of fact I think this should be the sole interest while deciding country’s health budget. As most of us know the common illnesses these days are mostly preventable and quite most of them are directly related to our life style somehow. Obesity, smoking, overeating, unhygienic living conditions all affect our health more than we could possibly imagine.

According to statistical data cardiovascular disorders like myocardial infarction also known as heart attack and stroke and several others are afflicting the population most commonly these days and consuming tremendous amount of budget. Little modifications in our style of dwelling can reduce this burden effortlessly. Starting with health education; spreading awareness regarding disease prevention like healthy eating habits, daily exercises, smoking cessation and safety driving tips would not require much pennies. Moreover the means of spreading this awareness is in our easy grasp in the form of media so there also no extravagant budget is required. Enforcing laws to ban all the health abusing items like cigarettes, alcohol and high amount of refined sugar in beverages is far more convenient than establishing hospitals in every nook and corner. Preventing infectious agent to spread by destroying their vectors and ensuring hygienic atmosphere is an easy catch than spending millions on finding their cure.

Although great effort and courage is required but the benefits of doing these little preventive measures are many folds. We can spare the patient all the complications associated with disease treatment. Less sick people would lead to more happy and healthy mind that can lead to far better world to live in.