School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, rapid advancement of technology has brought many benefits to our society. However, young children nowadays are becoming more dependent on computers while teachers have to avoid using computer devices in the classroom and teach the young students basic study skills. In my perspective, I tend to disagree with this.

Understandably, computers are pretty attracting for the young people because of its functions and features. Young people, in most cases, see the computers as gaming machines. If computers and laptop devices allow to use in classrooms, young students naturally would distracted by those computers. Consequently, young student will not likely learn anything in classes.

However, it is not say that computers are drawbacks. To begin with, using computers in classes for teachers can help more young students progress much faster. By submitting assignments to Turnitin website, teachers can check the mistakes that students made. Teachers can make correction immediately and accurately and students can views what did they do wrong and correct it after. If teachers make correction on homework and assignments by handwriting, it generally take more time to check and write and slow down students learning process.

Apart from this, computers can access to internet and obtain information easily. By simply typing keywords on Google and internet databases, students are able to get the information they needed. Therefore, students are no longer need to wait for a book that has been borrowed from the library before they do research. As a result, students can save more time for looking books at library.

In conclusion, although there are pitfalls of using computers, I still think that it has improved students learning process and time.