A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">Social status and material possessions have recently been </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">the</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> yardstick for measuring a person's worth in the society, instead of the </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">old-fashioned</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> values like, honour, trust and kindness, which they see as irrelevant. I agree with this because people embrace</span> the<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> physical things that they see.

It is </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">a known</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> fact that a lot of people embrace wealth and other physical possessions which they see. In my country, Nigeria, the youth and some elderly dance to the tune of the affluent in the society. They do their biding, hoping to get a taste of their wealth as a compensation. Regrettably, majority of these </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">high-profile</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> people however, lack the necessary virtues of life, but their followers care less about it because they believe that wealth and high social status are what move the world. For this reason, they are not perturbed to become slaves while they garner their own status.

Another significant reason why the </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">old-fashioned</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> virtue do not matter any longer in this recent time is that people tend to pretend to posses those qualities for one reason or</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> the other. It is </span>recorded<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> that a poor person is more honest, kind and trustworthy than one who has amassed wealth. This is so because the impoverished want to find favor </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">before</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> his people or handle a political position. At </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">the</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> long run when they must have attained some financial stability, they begin to display the hidden arrogance, rapacity in them, so</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> leaving the governed in despair.

In conclusion, people amount to something in the society, only when they are rich and can extend a helping hand such as money. On the other hand, </span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;">old-fashioned</span><span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> virtues do not count any longer.</span><br>