1111

It is suggested that the use of mobile phones should be banned just like smoking in all indoor places. Personally, I disagree with this opinion, because I think that although in certain occasions using mobiles will cause disturbance and disrespect to other people, banning its use like smoking is unreasonable.

On the one hand, I admit that using mobile phones in certain places may cause some problems. When people are engaging in their study in the library either reading journal articles to look for research ideas or examining opposing views from different scholars, it is often annoying to be disturbed by constant ring tone or message notifications. Apart from that, browsing websites or watching video through phones during class is disrespectful for both the teachers and the classmates, as the sound may interrupt teachers’ train of thought and influence other students’ learning efficiency in class.

However, on the other hand, I believe that there are two reasons why mobile phones should not be banned like smoking. Firstly, the difference between these two is particularly clear. Playing mobile phones does not pose negative effects on others all the time like smoking does. It is harmless to use phones in one’s leisure time for entertaining purposes such as texting with their partner or playing games. Secondly, it is necessary for many people to use their phones indoor constantly. Executive assistant of a senior manager, for example, needs to check his or her phone constantly to make sure they can meet the needs of the boss spontaneously.

In conclusion, I admit that using phones in certain occasions is annoying for other people, but banning it like smoking is not reasonable because the use of phone in many other occasions can do no harm and even can be necessary.