Some people believe famous people’s support towards international aid organizations draws the attention to problems, while others think celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

People have differing opinions about whether support from celebrities for international aid organisations exposes the problems to public’s attention. I my opinion, although in some cases celebrities become the focus instead of the problems themselves, famous people make many problems comes to people’s attention.

On the one hand, instead of knowing the problems, the public would give all their attention to the celebrities in some cases. For example, if a public figure supporting animal protection were found cheating on his or her spouse, what people focus would become this famous person’s individual life for a long time rather than what a severe situation animals are faced. Also, when a famous individual accepts bribe during their support towards an organisation fighting for gender equality, what comes to the public’s attention would be the financial scandal rather than the importance of eradicating gender discrimination.

On the other hand, however, I would argue that the help of celebrities makes it possible for more people to realize the problems and help to solve them. Tin Lok, a famous actor in Hong Kong, for instance, helps charity to build thousands of schools in the rural areas of China, so children living in poverty can still have the chance to receive education. His fans follow his cause and donate money, food as well as cloth to children in these regions every year. Besides, speaking loudly for the right to marry for same-sex couples to support organisations fighting for the rights of homosexual individuals, Lady Gaga led her fans to know that love is equal regardless of gender.

In conclusion, while the misconduct of celebrities may divide the public’s attention from the problems, I believe that in most cases they really highlight the problems we have and attract more people to do something to combat the situation.