Some people argue that too much attention and too many resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the amount of attention and resources given to wild animal protection is too much. I completely disagree with this opinion.

Firstly, the expansion of human activities is the reason why many animals lost their natural habitats. In order to produce more food to feed the growing population, many regions have been deforested to make room for farming. When people need more room for accommodation, people starts to reclaim land from rivers or even seas. Many animals have become victims as a result of these activities, so it is only fair and reasonable for human to shoulder the responsibility for protecting wild animals.

Besides, protecting animals is important for the survival of human as well. This is because when one species of animals, snakes, for example, dies out, the ecological system will be serious affected. Mice would probably destroy crops because of lacking natural enemies, leading to reduced food production.

In addition, the amount of money resources needed to deal with the problems of allowing the natural habitats together with the wild animals living there to disappear will be so much more than taking care of them now. For instance, rain forests are regarded as the lung of the Earth, absorbing carbon dioxide and releasing oxygen to balance the climate. If we turn a blind eye to this and these natural habitats of many animals for material gains, the resources and money needed to solve such problem would be billions.

In conclusion, animal protection requires as much attention and resources as we can give because that is our responsibility not only for animals but also for ourselves.