14. Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

In modern society, children have a tendency to use their time to play computer games instead of sports. This essay will discuss the reasons and take this negative development into consideration.

We will take a closer look at the causes of the transformation from outdoor to indoor activities of the children. The availability of technological devices and the variety of online entertainment apps are the main reasons that why children are interests in staying indoors. Thanks to the technological advancement in general and the breakthrough in the online entertainment industry in specific, children easily immerse themselves in many gadgets, such as social media platforms, Netflix, and video games. For example, instead of spending leisure time gathering with their peers, children willingly squander away time playing computer games as the graphical content draws more attention than their friends. After watching the Netflix documentary about the national habitat, children may lose their ambition to explore the natural world in real life.

From my perspective, it is a negative tendency. First of all, if children approach lots of unsuitable content for their age, it will lead to unexpected consequences. Follow some well-conducted research, a lot of content on Youtube or Facebook only suitable for the upper eighteen-year-old. Children exposed to those often could cause a degenerate tendency or deterioration in the ethical ground. Moreover, spending a considerable amount of time playing computer games instead of sports leads to detrimental mental and physical health. Prolonged screen exposure will cause vision-related issues along with obesity because it does not involve anybody's movements. When children spend a long hour on the computer, they become isolated from society and their relationship with friends; thus, depression is unavoidable.

To sum up, we have to know the causes of the changes in playtime-using of young children and discussed their drawback. To help children have a healthy lifestyle at a young age, we should consider corporate indoor and outdoor activities.