1. Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting a culture. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

With the rapid development of globalization, tourism has been considered to be one of the fastest growing industries in the world. However, its impact on culture is a matter of considerable controversy at present. This essay will elaborate on both positive and negative effects of tourism from a cultural perspective.

On the one hand, there are positive contributions from tourism industries to protect and develop a culture. Firstly, tourism benefits to the opportunity for cultural exchange that it offers. Tourism brings people together from different backgrounds, cultures, and traditions. When tourists visit a place, they will study about the history, discover specialties and especially enjoy sightseeing. This helps to increase an awareness of indigenous culture which otherwise would become extinct. Therefore, culture can be protected and passed on to the younger generations. Secondly, tourism also attracts investment from multinational companies, and the collected money can use to improve facilities, promote the active preservation and protection of important local resources.

On the other hand, there is also a strong argument that tourism is destroying culture for profit. The over-development of some areas can damage authentic cultural value. There are many exotic or picturesque places that can be dramatically damaged by the action of tourists. The intrusion of outsiders in the area may also disturb the local culture and create unrest among the people. In addition, the impact of tourism may destroy the life of local people. Some people may enter into criminal activities to fetch easy money from tourists, which leads to increased crime and anti-social activities and loss of moral and religious values.

In conclusion, although the existence of tourism has a great contribution on preserving culture, it is undeniable that it has put the integrity of a culture at risk