2.The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are effects on people living in these city? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of people?

It is true that in this modern era, the population density among urban areas is increasingly high. While this tendency has an adverse bearing on the lives of citizens who live in those areas, the governments could take several steps to tackle this problem.

To begin with, overcrowded cities are often more air-polluted than the other regions. This is because ones who live in those areas usually have their own private vehicles, such as cars or motorbikes. Hanoi, for instance, is ranked one of the cities that have an alarming rate of polluted air since each household would have at least 2 to 3 motorbikes and a private car. Polluted atmosphere as a result would have detrimental effects on the cities dwellers’ health, causing lung diseases.

While this problem could lead to severe consequences, government bodies could take measures to solve it. The first one is raising taxes on private transportation and decreasing public transports fees. This would provide incentives for their citizens to utilize buses and subways rather than private cars. American authorities has implemented several policies that put high taxes on petroleum private cars, for example. Another solution could be allocating resources to offer cities dwellers with public bikes with no extra costs. This could not only mitigate air pollution but also encourage individuals to do exercises and stay healthy. If people could do exercises regularly in clean and fresh air, their health will improve, which helps them to maintain high life quality.

In conclusion, while rapid growth among metropolitan areas could have a negative effect on people’s health, national and local authorities could enforce laws and provide resources to improve the situation, as well as to keep their citizens’ life at good quality.