41. Government should support old building restoration or invest in the construction of new house and roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the debate about whether the government should restore the old buildings or diminished them has always been taken care of by citizens. Some people argue that the authority should spend fiscal funding for the development of modern structures. From my perspective, both investments in the restoration of ancient buildings and the construction of new infrastructure are indispensable.

There is a range of reasons to support this idea. Firstly, the old buildings play an important role in the reflection of the historical development. Based on the differences in decoration and architecture of each old building, historians and archaeologists can estimate the timeline of human evolution. This estimation has a significant effect on the historical education of future generations. Hence, those buildings must be conserved. Secondly, the heritage buildings, after preservation, can become tourist attractions. As a result, it brings opportunities of making a profit for the tourism industry. For example, in Viet Nam, these old churches or heritage buildings often are restored and improved annually by the government, which in turn, each of these become a must-go destination for foreign tourists, contribute to the sustainable development of domestic tourism.

The construction of new houses and roads have beneficial effects for the need of the society. It could help reduce the urban housing shortages and the high traffic volume because of this necessity, not only the funding for the government but also a lot of real estate developers’ capital input in large urban sprawl projects for new residential areas or the construction of high-capacity of real estate. For instance, in American, the grant companies, such as Apple, Microsoft, have built up funding for investing in the highway system or block of flats.

To sum up, in order to have sustainable development not only in historical factor but also in the innovation process, government participates in the preservation of ancient buildings and construction of mordent amenities.