5. People are surrounded by advertisement which has an increase effect on our lives.

Do you think the positive effect of this outweigh the negative effects?

It is clear that advertising has been a booming industry around the world over the past several decades. Although the advertising industry has actually been doing a lot of good for humankind, the real long term negative impacts on society should be viewed as significant.

On the one hand, there are a number of benefits that have been brought by advertising. Firstly, since the main purpose of ads is to create awareness of brands, products, and services, consumers will get chances to know and learn more about them. This means that consumers would be able to receive information actively through advertising campaigns or channels, which helps them to save time as advertisements appear anywhere. Moreover, in order for corporations and businesses to advertise their name, especially brands and products, advertising has been considered as one of the powerful tools like marketing and public relations. For example, an unknown product would become a popular one if advertisers choose good methods, which contributes to increase sales and enhance good-will for businesses in the market.

On the other hand, there are more negative aspects that outweighed positive outcomes. First of all, people find to struggle with unnecessary things if they are appealed by advertisements. For example, consumers will easy to buy products that they have seen either on the TV or online platforms but they sometimes do not really need to spend money for, which directly affects to families’ finances in the long run. In addition, advertisements are not 100 per cent reliable since agencies and brands usually advertise their positive sides only. This means that there is nothing to ensure the quality of products as consumers have not had any experiences, which makes them not only giving wrong purchasing decisions but also buying not-good-enough products.

In conclusion, although advertising has been doing a lot of good to the business industry, they often have more harm than good. Consumers should think and choose wisely before purchasing products.